New Ward boundaries and how councillors will be elected on May 7th

New Chorley Council boundaries will mean that all of the 14 new council wards will have 3 councillors each

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has reviewed our council wards so that each will have a similar number of electors.  And that means every councillor vacancy will need to be filled, and all our smaller single and two councillor wards merged together making larger wards, often on completely new boundaries and names.

The new wards being contested on Thursday May 7th are

  • Adlington and Anderton 

  • Buckshaw and Whittle

  • Chorley East

  • Chorley North East

  • Chorley North West

  • Chorley North and Astley

  • Chorley South East and Heath Charnock

  • Chorley South West

  • Clayton East, Brindle and Hoghton

  • Clayton West & Cuerden

  • Coppull

  • Croston, Mawdesley and Euxton South

  • Eccleston, Heskin and Charnock Richard

  • Euxton

Because Chorley Council is elected in "thirds" with an election every year, on this first election the candidate with the largest vote will be elected for a four year term,  the second candidate will be in post for three years until 2023, and the third placed candidate until 2022.  From then on, each successful councillor will be in post for a full four year term.

Also on polling day, residents across Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool and Lancashire will be electing their new Lancashire Police and Crime Commissioner with our candidate Andrew Snowden.

Please take part in our survey so our councillors and candidates know what really matters to you 

Chorley Survey 2020

  • 1 Current: Local Isues
  • 2 National Issues
  • 3 Get involved
  • 4 Your details
1.1 How satisfied are you with Chorley Borough Council where 0 is very dissatisfied and 10 is very satisfied?
Including the Council's consultation on future development sites
1.3 Which three of these local issues do you think should be prioritised?